EnHanced Siri Voices for VoiceOver Not Available on iOS 10.0.1 After Restoring my iPhone 6S

For quite some time I have been a very satisfied user of iOS, starting with iOS 7 several years ago. I recently upgraded to iOS 10 and, after performing a restore from an iTunes backup, I noticed that the enhanced Siri voices, while they are available with Siri, are no longer available for users of VoiceOver. This has left me feeling disappointed, as the enhanced Siri male voice is one of the few that I really prefer on the iPhone. I have reported the relevant details regarding this problem to Apple and I encourage you to do the same if you’re having the same problem. Apple will be more likely to investigate and correct this bug as more users contact them about the problem. Their email address is

accessibility at apple dot com

To avoid spammers, I have written out the email address with spaces and words for the punctuation, so be sure to remove the spaces and replace the words at and dot with the relevant symbols.

Here is the text that I sent to them.

Hello.

I am writing concerning a problem which I am unable to solve. This issue concerns an iPhone 6S, 64 GB model. The same problem has affected a family member who owns an iPhone 6, 128 GB.

Here are the details of my device and the problem I am experiencing.

I am visually impaired and use VoiceOver for access. I use the U.S. Siri enhanced male voice. My iPhone 6S initially came preinstalled with iOS 9. Its speed and overall performance were extremely satisfactory using VoiceOver. When iOS 10 was publicly released, I downloaded and installed it onto my 6S. I noticed that some apps took a longer time to load. I also noticed a slightly longer than usual delay when performing the two-finger scrub gesture to move back to the previous screen. While I wouldn’t say that the delays were unacceptable, I admit to being disappointed at the difference in performance on a phone which is still a very recent model. I decided to perform a complete reset and erase, followed by a restore from a recent iTunes backup, hoping that doing so might increase my phone’s performance.

After performing the restore from iTunes, I noticed that there was no difference in my phone’s performance. However, I was unable to switch to the enhanced Siri voices with VoiceOver as these voices were no longer listed as available choices. While it was possible to set VoiceOver to any of the Siri voices, these were just the lower-quality voices. The enhanced voices no longer appeared as possible choices. Please understand that these enhanced Siri voices were available to me when I initially upgraded from iOS 9 to iOS 10. They disappeared when I performed a reset and restore on my phone.

This is very troubling to me as these are my favorite voices and I very much prefer them over the other voices from Nuance and I would very much like them back. As I indicated, another family member who also uses VoiceOver is experiencing the same problem with his iPhone 6. If there is a way to return these voices to my phone, I would appreciate learning how this is done. If this is a bug due to resetting or restoring the device, I would greatly appreciate it if Apple could investigate the cause of the problem.

Many thanks.

3 thoughts on “EnHanced Siri Voices for VoiceOver Not Available on iOS 10.0.1 After Restoring my iPhone 6S

  1. Anything new about this? I’m facing the very same issue after restoring my backup of an 6s on a iPhone 7… nothing seems to help.

    • I’ve contacted Apple regarding the problem and they are definitely aware of the issue, although they could not provide a timeline for when we might see a fix. I’m disappointed that the issue still occurs with iOS 10.1.1 but I’m hoping a fix will be implemented soon.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you.

