Happy Mothers Day to My Mom

Last year, I wrote a short tribute to all mothers and I wrote a special tribute to my own mother in that post. This year, I would like to publicly say Happy Mothers Day specifically to my mom. I have many things to thank her for and I know I won’t be able to include all of them in this post but I will highlight just some of them.
First and fore most, thank you for saying yes to life and agreeing to give birth to me. Many mothers are forced into not being allowed to give birth to their children, today more than ever before, all in the name of choice. My life is one of my greatest gifts. Since there’s no such thing as reincarnation, if you had not said yes to that important question then I would never have been born. My soul wouldn’t have been sent to another mother. I simply would never have been born.
Thank you for graciously accepting my disability and for treating me like any other child. In those days, we didn’t have the resources, technology and legislation that we enjoy today and it must have been frightening to raise a blind child during that time.
Thank you for ensuring that I learned how to read Braille. Because of that choice, I am literate. Because of that choice, I have enjoyed reading books since I was a small child. It gave me not only the ability to read but it also gave me a great love and respect for books. Because of that choice, it introduced me to the Bible from around the age of nine.
Thank you for always being awake and out of bed before I was to make sure that I had a packed lunch and that I was on the bus to school. Well, except for that one day when I was in fourth grade when I allowed you to sleep past your alarm so that I could miss school. However, in my defense, I think I did it because I wanted more time to read one of my books and so it was for a good reason. Thank you for giving me a love of chocolate.
Thank you for preparing all of those corn-starch baths when I had the chicken pox.
Another item which should be a top priority on this list is that I’d like to thank you for also saying yes to life and giving birth to my brother. Yes, sometimes we fought like cats and dogs when we were kids and there were times that you probably thought we’d almost kill one another. However, a while ago my wife pointed out that he’s now my best friend. We talk almost daily and we are now quite close and it was your choice, your yes to his life, which has made that possible.
Thank you for encouraging me to play my music. I think you always got a kick out of the fact that I was able to figure out notes from songs on that tiny little keyboard you bought for me when I was a kid.
Thank you for your support and encouragement in attending a mainstream high school. It provided me with good friends and experiences that were just wonderful. Thank you for always ensuring that I had clean clothes to wear. Thank you for the support and encouragement that you have shown to my wife.
Thank you for the support and graciousness that you have shown for my choice to become a Catholic.
However, first and foremost, I would like to thank you again for giving me my life. It was God who created me but you chose to give birth to me. I have tried to make something out of that life. I have tried to learn as much as I can and to share what I know with others. I have tried to be a comfort to others when they need it. I have tried to make other people laugh. Most importantly, I have tried to use that life, however imperfectly, to love people as much as I can. Frankly, I constantly see how I can always improve in that area but the point is that I have a life and I have tried to use it to touch the lives of others in a positive way. The fact that you said yes to that life has made all of that possible. For all of these reasons, and for so many more, saying “Happy Mothers Day” just sounds so casual and trivial. However, I’m glad that we have this day so that I can think back and remember all that you have chosen to do for me. Thank you, Mom, for doing all of the things that I’ve mentioned in this post and for everything you’ve done for me for each day of my life. I love you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you.

