A Perspective on Saving the Animals

One thing that people might not know about me is that I happen to love animals and I’m quite partial to cats. My wife and I have been cat owners since we met and both of us have always enjoyed being in the company of cats, even though some of our cats have not always enjoyed being in the company of one another. The point is that we really love our pets and we do everything we can to care for them. We provide them with medical checkups, medication for problems which we can fix, yummy food (at least I assume it’s yummy), water, daily treats and lots of love and attention. I was therefore interested in a commercial which I heard on TV earlier today which I believe was from one of the humane societies. Viewers were encouraged to rescue pets from violence and, at one point, the announcer said something like “if you find these images disturbing then you can do your part to rescue one of these animals.”
I don’t have a problem with this. By all means, rescue an animal if you can; they’re one of God’s creatures. I’m always hearing about various causes giving us opportunities to rescue animals, fund nature preserves and similar causes. However, absent from the list of commercials which appear on my screen are pleas to rescue the most vulnerable group of humanity, this group being unborn children. Just for once, I’d like to see a commercial which presents images of children in the womb, taken from 3-D ultrasound images, followed by images of what unborn children look like after being killed as a result of an abortion. The announcer could say something like “if you find these images disturbing, please give to your local right to life affiliate and help us to save some of these children.”
While we celebrate the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday and give thanks for the many blessings which we have received, let us give thanks for one of the greatest blessings we have been given, that being the gift of life itself. Let us remember that over a million babies have been denied this precious gift during the past year, all in the name of choice. If you find anything in my previous post moving or even disturbing, perhaps you would consider supporting the National Right to Life Committee.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you.

