From Howto Geek: What MS-DOS Was Like

I was amused that HowtoGeek ran an article explaining DOS, presumably to users who had never seen or used this ancient but well-loved operating system. It’s like explaining old time radio to kids who only grew up with television.
the article brought back a lot of happy memories. My first computer, which I acquired used in 1991, ran either version 3.2 or 3.3 of DOS. It had 640K of memory and a 10 MB hard drive and I paid $150.00 for it. It had a 5.25 floppy drive and ran Vocal-eyes version 1.1, which was the first DOS screen reader I ever used, along with a Braille ‘n speak for my synthesizer. It served me well, allowing me to go online calling BBS’s or bulletin board systems with a 300 baud modem which I bought from Radio Shack. I learned DOS from one of those DOS manuals for beginners which I borrowed from my local NLS library. Upgrades came over time and eventually I was using a 486 running ASAP, a faster modem, 3.5 inch floppy drive and a more spacious hard drive. We’ve come a long way since those days and I wouldn’t want to go back. However, sometimes it would be fun to boot up my older 486 machine, fire up ASAP, run Commo and call a few BBS’s for old time’s sake.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you.

