MS-DOS and Early Version of Word for Windows Now Open Source

If I didn’t know any better, I might think this is an early April Fool’s day joke but it’s really true. Microsoft is releasing the source code of some of its early software: MS-DOS and Word for Windows. That 300 KB download of the MS-DOS code shouldn’t take too long to download on my broadband connection. Here’s a link to an article from EWeek about it..
http://www.eweek.com/pc-hardware/microsoft-revisits-the-80s-with-ms-dos-word-for-windows-source-code.html
If I were a programmer, I’d add a few tweeks to the original Word for Windows. For starters, I’d beef up the accessibility to allow modern-day screen readers and enlargers to use it. Maybe some support for some new file formats. However, I think I’ll keep the old-school menu bar and spare all of my users being strangled by the ribbon.

Please feel free to leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you.

